From the Editor: Going for the Gold

Sports history is being rewritten at the time I write this column. U.S. swimmer Michael Phelps has become the winningest Olympic athlete of all time with 14 gold medals, the latest coming at the 29th Olympiad in Beijing, China. This accomplishment has him surpassing the elite company of sprinter Carl Lewis and swimmer Mark Spitz. Phelps’ eight gold medals have come with seven world records, and he broke Spitz’s record of seven gold medals in a single Olympics.

According to an article by Pamela Barone on the NBC Olympics site, “Any comparison of Phelps and Spitz begins with the fact that, since 1972 the sport of swimming has become infinitely more competitive. Swimmers from around the world are now competitive on an international level. Times are faster, technology is better, the competition is stiffer and more diverse.”

That’s no different than what many manufacturers are up against in remaining competitive with their products, and we at Quality Magazine recognize that fact.

While no world records will be broken in the process, Quality Magazine does have its own Olympics of sorts-the Quality Plant and Professional of the Year awards.

The Quality Plant of the Year award is open to manufactur-ing plants in the United States. The plant must be involved in making and measuring, testing or inspect-ing discrete parts. We’re looking for plants that have applied world-class quality technology, equipment, ser-vices and techniques that result in reducing scrap, rework, warranty or manufacturing costs, improve productivity or cycle time, increase capacity or improve adherence to quality standards.

Past Plant of the Year recipients include Diamond Electric, Kenworth Truck Co., Accurate Gauge & Manufacturing Inc., Freightliner’s Mt. Holly, NC, Truck Manufacturing Plant and Ford’s Van Dyke Transmission Plant.

Through its individual awards program, Quality Magazine recognizes an individual who, during the course of his/her career, has made outstanding contributions to the quality profession. Applicants for the Professional of the Year award are judged on leadership, achievements, application, service and awards.

Past Professional of the Year recipients include Dr. Roderick Munro, Jim L. Smith and Peter Sanderson.

The 2009 Plant and Professional of the Year will be recognized at the Quality Measurement Conference at its new location in Orlando, FL, May 4-7, 2009. For more information on the conference, visit

The deadline for nominations for both Quality Plant and Professional of the Year is November 10. Nomination forms can be downloaded at While you’re there, take a few minutes to read the articles on the past Plant and Professional of the Year recipients.

The Quality Plant and Professional of the Year awards have one other thing over the Olympics-there’s no need to wait four years to compete.

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to Quality Magazine. 

Recent Articles by Gillian Campbell

You must login or register in order to post a comment.




Charles J. Hellier has been active in the technology of nondestructive testing and related quality and inspection fields since 1957. Here he talks with Quality's managing editor, Michelle Bangert, about the importance of training.
More Podcasts

Quality Magazine


2015 February

The February 2015 edition of Quality Magazine includes this years Leadership 100.

Table Of Contents Subscribe

The Skills Gap

What is the key to solving the so-called skills gap in the quality industry?
View Results Poll Archive

Clear Seas Research

qcast_ClearSeas_logo.gifWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications,Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


facebook_40.png twitter_40px.png  youtube_40px.pnglinkedin_40px.png