Industry Headlines / NDT

Annual ASM Award Nominations due February 1

MATERIALS PARK, OH - The deadline for the majority of ASM's awards is February 1, 2010 and they are actively seeking nominations for all of these awards. View instructions and download nomination forms here. Highlighted below are some of the ASM Awards for which the organization is actively seeking nominations:

Edward DeMille Campbell Memorial Lectureship – recognizes demonstrated ability in materials science and engineering.

Distinguished Life Membership- conferred on those leaders who have devoted their time, knowledge and abilities to the advancement of the materials industries.

William Hunt Eisenman Award – recognizes unusual achievements in industry in the practical application of materials science and engineering through production.

Gold Medal – recognizes outstanding knowledge and great versatility in the application of science to the field of materials science and engineering, as well as exceptional ability in the diagnosis and solution of diversified materials problems.

Historical Landmarks – identifies permanently the many sites and events that have played a prominent part in the discovery, development and growth of metals and metalworking. Sites/Structures should be at least 50 years old.

Honorary Membership – recognizes distinguished service to the materials science and engineering profession, to ASM International and to the progress of mankind.

Medal for the Advancement of Research – honors an executive of an organization, one of whose important activities is the production, fabrication or use of metals and other materials. Over a period of years, the recipient shall have consistently sponsored research or development and by foresight and actions shall have help substantially to advance the arts and sciences relating to materials science and engineering.

Allan Ray Putnam Service Awardrecognizes the exemplary efforts of various outstanding members of ASM International on behalf of the Society - to further its objectives and goals.

Albert Sauveur Achievement Award – recognizes pioneering materials science and engineering achievements that have stimulated organized work along similar lines to such an extent that a marked basic advance has been made in the knowledge of materials science and engineering.

Albert Easton White Distinguished Teacher Award – recognizes unusually long and devoted service in teaching as well as significant accomplishments in materials science and engineering and an unusual ability to inspire and impart enthusiasm to students.

J. Willard Gibbs Phase Equilibria Award - recognize outstanding contributions to the field of Phase Equilibria.

Did you enjoy this article? Click here to subscribe to Quality Magazine. 

You must login or register in order to post a comment.




Charles J. Hellier has been active in the technology of nondestructive testing and related quality and inspection fields since 1957. Here he talks with Quality's managing editor, Michelle Bangert, about the importance of training.
More Podcasts

Quality Magazine


2015 February

The February 2015 edition of Quality Magazine includes this years Leadership 100.

Table Of Contents Subscribe

The Skills Gap

What is the key to solving the so-called skills gap in the quality industry?
View Results Poll Archive

Clear Seas Research

qcast_ClearSeas_logo.gifWith access to over one million professionals and more than 60 industry-specific publications,Clear Seas Research offers relevant insights from those who know your industry best. Let us customize a market research solution that exceeds your marketing goals.


facebook_40.png twitter_40px.png  youtube_40px.pnglinkedin_40px.png