MCLEAN, VA-The Association for Manufacturing Technology elected its 2011/2012 officers and directors on March 5 at its 2011 annual meeting in Chandler, AZ.

The board of directors of the association, which represents more than 400 American manufacturers of machine tools, manufacturing machinery and related products, elected Eugene R. Haffely Jr., general manager, Dayton Facility at ATW Automation (Dayton, OH), to chairman. Haffely follows Daniel D. Janka, president, MAG Global, Hebron, KY. Janka will now serve the association as an ex-officio member of its board of directors, along with Ronald F. Schildge, president, Eitel Presses Inc. (Orwigsburg, PA).

The board elected Timothy B. Dining, president and CEO, Greenerd Press & Machine Co. (Nashua, NH), to serve as first vice chairman in the coming year. Also elected was R. Stephen Flynn, president, Optical Gaging Products Inc., Rochester, NY, to serve as second vice chairman and treasurer.

Kim W. Beck, president and CEO, Automatic Feed Co. (Napoleon, OH), will continue to serve as secretary.

Newly elected to a three-year term as a member of the association’s board of directors are Larry G. Schwartz, president and COO, Okuma America Corp. (Charlotte, NC), and Richard L. Simons, president and CEO, Hardinge Inc. (Elmira, NY). Both R. Stephen Flynn, president, Optical Gaging Products (Rochester, NY), and Michael Powell, president, Master WorkHolding Inc. (Morganton, NC), will be returning for a three-year term.

“It is exciting to be assuming the role of AMT Chairman in this critical time of economic recovery for manufacturers,” Haffely says. “As we are seeing significant portions of AMT’s Manufacturing Mandate being adopted and implemented by government and the private sector, we expect to see the support generated for manufacturing in the [United States] increase. This, coupled with the introduction of new business intelligence tools for the manufacturing technology industry, will make the coming year productive and inspiring.”