President George W. Bush and Commerce Secretary Donald L. Evans announced the winners of the 2001 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. For the first time since the program's inception in 1987, winners were named in the education category. The 2001 recipients are:

Clarke American Checks Inc. (San Antonio), manufacturing
Pal's Sudden Service (Kings-port, TN), small business
Chugach School District (Anchorage, AK), education
Pearl River School District (Pearl River, NY), education
University of Wisconsin-Stout (Menomonie, WI), education.

The award is given to U.S. organizations that have exemplary achievements in seven areas: leadership, strategic planning, customer and market focus, information and analysis, human resource focus, process management and business results.

Congress established the award in 1987 to raise awareness about quality management and to recognize U.S. companies that have successful quality management systems.