The National Association of Manufacturers' (NAM) Manufacturing Career Alliance has awarded The Association for Manufacturing Technology (AMT) a grant to promote manufacturing careers to young people. AMT supports NAM's school-to-career initiative to promote manufacturing career opportunities to young people, address declining participation in training and preparation, and improve the quality and availability of training and work readiness of students.

Charles Lloyd was elected president of the Mechanical Power Transmission Association. Edward Ward was elected to a three-year term on the board of directors. Took Coder and Paul Gorski also are members of the board.

Wayne N. Holliday has been elected vice chairman of the American Society for Testing and Materials' 2001 board of directors.

Marilyn Sherry has been named the internal quality manager for the Automotive Industry Action Group.