TAMPA, FL – ISPE, a global not-for-profit association of 25,000 pharmaceutical science and manufacturing professionals, announced its 2008 award winners and recognized their contributions to the pharmaceutical industry and the society. Robert P. Best, ISPE’s president and CEO, presented the honors at the Society’s 2008 Annual Meeting held at the end of October in Boca Raton, FL.

An award was established in honor of longtime ISPE adviser, colleague, and friend Joe Phillips, who passed away in April 2008. The Joseph X. Phillips Professional Achievement Award was presented to Phillips’ wife, Dolores Phillips, and sons John and Joseph Jr., and will be presented in the future to the ISPE Member who has made significant contributions not only to ISPE, but to the pharmaceutical manufacturing industry. ISPE’s 2008 Annual Meeting was dedicated to Phillips.

Special recognition awards were given to document task teams for their work on two successful ISPE technical documents. The first team was honored for their work on the GAMP® 5: A Risk Based Approach to Compliant GxP Computerized Systems and included Anders Bredesen, Sam Brooks, Jay Buffi, Winnie Cappucci, Mark Cherry, Chris Clark, Gail Evans, Heinrich Hamblock, Colin Jones, Paige Kane, Tony Margetts, Arthur (Randy) Perez, Peter Robertson, Kate Samways, David Selby, and Sion Wyn. The second team was honored for their work on the ISPE Good Practice Guide: Good Engineering Practice and included Christopher Derrett, Mark Foss, and Nicholas Haycocks.