MILWUKEE-The American Society for Quality (ASQ) has announced the following slate of officers for the 2009-10 term:

  • President. Peter L. Andres, Boeing Company, Integrated Defense Systems, Huntington Beach, CA.
  • Chairman. Roberto M. Saco, Aporia Advisors Inc., Coral Gables, FL.
  • President-elect. E. David Spong, Boeing Company (retired), Rancho Palos Verdes, CA.
  • Treasurer. Jim Rooney, ABSG Consulting, Knoxville, TN.
  • Newly Elected Board Member. Lloyd Barker, Alcoa Inc., New York, NY.
  • Reelected Board Member. Kay A. Kendall, Westford, MA.

    The results were announced at ASQ’s Annual Business Meeting, held in conjunction with the World Conference on Quality and Improvement, May 18 to 20, in Minneapolis, MN. Current ASQ president Roberto M. Saco will assume the chairman’s duties July 1, 2009, and Peter L. Andres, who is currently president-elect, will move into the president position.

    “As ASQ president, I look forward to meeting challenges together-doing our work to advance the cause and awareness of quality together,” said Andres, during his official inaugural address at the World Conference Annual Banquet May 19. “We are a community-a family-an association of quality professionals. I encourage you to take care of the most important relationships, the relationship with your quality colleagues-the new ones, the virtual ones and those most treasured long lasting ones-after all, it’s about the people."

    Andres also voiced his commitment to continue advancing ASQ’s key initiatives: the ASQ Learning Institute, global expansion, Socially Responsible Organization and the Quality Body of Knowledge (QBOK).

    Andres has more than 25 years of experience in quality management, primarily in the aerospace industry. His areas of expertise include application of quality management systems, acquisition quality strategies and process improvement methods. He is currently a quality engineer with Integrated Defense Systems at the Boeing Co. in Huntington Beach, CA. He began working for Boeing Company in 1996.