DEARBORN, MI, and SAN ANTONIO, TX- In partnership withFord Motor Co. Fund and Community Services, theSME Education Foundation announces the 2011 Ford Blue Oval Scholarship program for graduating high school seniors in Bexar County, Texas. As part of its Operation Goodwill program, Ford Motor Co. Fund and Community Services are continuing this scholarship program, established in 2009, for Bexar County high school students to encourage their pursuit of degrees in engineering or technology-related programs.

Ten scholarships valued at $2,500 each will be awarded to students who have made their college selection. Students are invited to visit the SME Education Foundation Web site to access scholarship information and the scholarship application. The application and all required documents must be received by the offices of the SME Education Foundation by Friday, April 15, 2011. Scholarship recipients will be notified by mail beginning May 2011.

The Ford Blue Oval Scholarship program is an innovative initiative designed to increase Ford's philanthropic and community-related commitment in select cities across America. Through this program, Ford Fund is partnering with its dealers in providing funding to support a combination of grants, safety and educational programs and volunteer activities that enhance the quality of life in San Antonio. Ford Motor Co. Fund and Community Services, the philanthropic arm of Ford Motor Co., is a highly-recognized industry leader committed to furthering the development of America’s future engineers, scientists and technical work force. It has partnered with the SME Education Foundation, who in sharing its vision for workforce development, administers the scholarship. The Ford Blue Oval Scholarship, a one-time gift, allows students to apply for subsequent awards. It was established in the summer of 2009 with plans to expand to other cities.

Each selected student is known as a Ford Blue Oval Scholar. In 2010 scholarships were awarded to ten students, five young men and five young women from the following Bexar County high schools: Ronald Regan, Winston Churchill, Theodore Roosevelt, Burbank, Brooks Academy, McCollum, South San Antonio, Southwest, Earl Warren and the Science and Engineering Academy (SEA).

Requirements: Students must have a minimum 2.5/4.0 GPA or GED certificate; be part or full-time student and pursuing a career in engineering or engineering technology, and enrolled in a diploma/certificate, two-year or four-year degree program. Students must provide the Foundation with the name and address of the school/financial aid office they plan on attending. Award funds will be deposited in an account at the recipient’s institution of choice and only used as a credit toward tuition, fees, books, and course related equipment. Students must contact the designated official at their school regarding the procedure for disbursement of funds.

Applicants are required to download and print theapplication from the Foundation website, provide a high school transcript from their current school or GED certificate, their resume including work history, submit a student essay of one or two paragraphs describing why they selected a career in engineering or engineering technology and their career goals, with two letters of reference – one being from a current or former instructor. In administering the scholarships, the SME Education Foundation will review applicant submissions and determine awardees.