DETROIT-Eleven automotive suppliers won 2011 Automotive News PACE Awards for innovation during a black tie ceremony at the Max M. Fisher Music Center in Detroit, MI. Four automotive manufacturers were also honored during the program with Automotive News PACE Innovation Partnership Awards.

The 17th annual awards program for innovation honor suppliers that contribute products, processes, capital equipment, information technology or services directly to the manufacture of cars or trucks worldwide. The Premier Automotive Suppliers' Contribution to Excellence (PACE) Award is presented by Automotive News, Ernst & Young LLP and Transportation Research Center Inc. (TRC Inc.).

Selected from among 35 finalists, the 2011 PACE Award winners are:

  • Delphi Automotive - Troy, Mich. - Delphi Multec GDi Fuel Injector

  • Federal-Mogul Corporation - Nuremberg, Germany and Southfield, MI - EcoTough Piston Coating

  • Federal-Mogul Corporation - Burscheid, Germany and Southfield, MI - Low-Friction LKZ Oil Ring

  • Henkel Corp. - Madison Heights, MI - Terophon High Damping Foam

  • Honeywell Turbo Technologies - Torrance, CA - Honeywell DualBoost – Turbocharger for Medium Duty Diesel Engines

  • Janesville Acoustics - Southfield, MI - Molded Fiber IP Closeouts with Integrated Lighting and Ducts

  • Key Safety Systems Inc. - Sterling Heights, Mich. - INFLATABELT - Inflatable Seat Belt System

  • MAHLE - Stuttgart, Germany - Electrical Waste Gate Actuator

  • OSRAM Opto Semiconductors GmbH - Regensburg, Germany - OSTAR Headlamp - LED Headlamp Light Source

  • Robert Bosch GmbH - Stuttgart, Germany - Bosch P2 Parallel Full Hybrid System

  • Schaeffler Technologies - Troy, MI - INA Lightweight Balance Shaft with Roller Bearings

  • Takata Corp. - Auburn Hills, MI - Vacuum Folding Technology

    PACE Award winners were chosen following a thorough review of written submissions from each supplier and site visits by an independent panel of judges, drawn from among industry, academic and business leaders.