NEWTON, KS-Bunting Magnetics Co. has announced the 2011-2012 recipients of the Walter F. Bunting and June A. Bunting Memorial Scholarships. This year the company awarded 18 scholarships with a 12% increase in the dollar amount given to each student. The scholarships, which are $500 apiece, are awarded to the company’s employees’ college-age children for either university or vocational training.

“We began this program in 2000 to support the aspirations of our employees’ families,” says Robert J. Bunting Sr., president of Bunting. “Our goal is to continually improve and strengthen it. My parents, for whom these scholarships are named, were very close to their employees and valued their hard work and dedication. So, this program is something that is very close to my heart.”

The 2011-2012 Walter F. Bunting scholarship winners are:

  • Jordan D. Brown, Wichita State University (Wichita, KS);
  • Cody R. Flashman, University of Indiana (Bloomington, IN);
  • Gage W. McNolty, Wichita State University (Wichita, KS);
  • Derek S. Moore, Johnson County Community College (Overland Park, KS);
  • Guy M. Moreland, Friends University (Wichita, KS);
  • Dustin P. Rowe, University of Kansas (Lawrence, KS);
  • Marc A. Suderman, Maranatha Baptist Bible College (Watertown, WI); and
  • Jonathan M. Wilks, University of Tampa (Tampa, FL).

    The 2011-2012 June A. Bunting scholarship winners are:

  • Neal I. Andrews, Cowley County Community College (Arkansas City, KS);
  • Taylor N. Brown, Wichita State University (Wichita, KS);
  • Corey M. Buller, Wichita State University (Wichita, KS);
  • Dane T. Moore, Kansas State University (Manhattan, KS);
  • Brianne C. Moreland, Hutchinson Community College (Hutchinson, KS);
  • Cristyn T. Rowe, University of Kansas (Lawrence, KS);
  • Jennifer L. Van Horn, Bethel College (Newton, KS); and
  • Samantha L. Wesoly, University of Connecticut (Storrs, CT).

    Since 2000, Bunting has awarded 103 scholarships totaling nearly $45,000 in recognition of the founders of the company. Each student must complete a written report to qualify for the scholarship.