DEARBORN, MI-The Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) is seeking nominations for the 2010 Class of Fellows. Fellows membership is limited to a select few and is presented in recognition of contributions to the social, technological and educational aspects of the manufacturing profession.

Some of the many notable SME Fellows include Masahiko Mori, president of Mori Seiki Co. Ltd.; John W. Sutherland, Ph.D., Richard and Elizabeth Henes chair professor of mechanical engineering and director of Sustainable Futures Institute at Michigan Tech; and Richard E. Morley, the father of the programmable controller and a leader in the field of advanced technological development.

Candidates must be SME members in good standing, have a minimum of a BS degree or its equivalent in terms of experience, have 20 years of professional (manufacturing-related) experience and must have made outstanding contributions in manufacturing, industrial or educational leadership. Election to the SME College of Fellows carries a lifetime membership in the Society.

Nomination forms and additional information on these and other SME awards may be found

The deadline date to submit nominations and the required letters of recommendation is December 1, 2009. Submit nominations to[email protected], fax to (313) 425-3406 or mail to Fellows Selection Committee, c/o Executive Offices, Society of Manufacturing Engineers, One SME Drive, P.O. Box 930, Dearborn, MI, 48121.